Ad Radar
Item Posts    Sort Order

Clutch problem

marks_85
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 09/19/08 09:51 AM

My 85 with 4+3 has a problem in that the clutch does not disengage.  I have watched through the fork access point while the cluch is being depressed and everything appears to be working.  Any ideas?  I am thinking most likely release bearing failure. Frown  

maxdog0001
Posted: 09/21/08 06:41 PM

By the clutch does not disengage , if you mean that gears grind when you try to shift or are unable to shift; then the INPUT shaft to the transmission is still spinning , when it should not be turning. This could be caused if the fit of the tip of the input shaft is TOO TIGHT WHERE IT SITS IN THE BUSHING AT THE VER REAR OF THE CRANKSHAFT. Other things regarding the pressure plate still SQUEEZING  the clutch disc onto the flywheel would turn the input shaft.  

texex91
Posted: 12/16/10 02:31 PM

my 85 with 4+3 has taken me through the ringer!!!!  I am by no means a mechanic..but we have replaced master and slave cyl.  - throw out bearing - push rod - hydrolic line assembly between master and slave.. pressure plate.. Both times it was in the shop, we drove it home and 1/2 day later clutch wasn't working again.. Twice has done the same thing.. any suggestions will help.. I live in NW Georgia and need a mechanic who really knows antique Vettes.. Please Help..  

waynep7122
I have an SS396 tatoo
Posted: 12/16/10 07:03 PM

when clutches fail to release...    there are several possible problems....

i have had a lot of trouble with similar clutch masters.. where the top of the bore wears.. this reduces the fluid displacement...   the clutch master and the clutch slave cylinder are matched in displacement...

so a full stroke of the clutch pedal  will move the slave cylinder the proper amount...