Ad Radar
Item Posts    Sort Order

454 Big Block Noise.. dumb question??

fireman1013
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 04/27/13 10:59 AM

My frustration has driven me to join the forum...
I have a 1989 Mastercraft Maristar 240 competition ski boat running a 454 big block. Last season I rebuilt the Holley carb and did valve adjustment- it ran awesome!! A 24 foot, 3500 lb boat with 6 adults aboard running 63 mph was a blast. As I came back down to idle speed for one last "prop check" I noticed a loud noise like a rod knock. No hydro lock or over-rev. happened~ so i was puzzled.  Confused
Anyway- I tore into it- pulled valve covers and put rod end clips on to run it.. I found that #8 was the culprit. I ran full compression check, all were at 145-150 but #8 was at 120.  I backed off the rocker then readjusted as it ran until the noise stopped. Then took another compression check and found zero- valve fully compressed. I readjusted until i got 120 back to the cylinder and droped some light oil in spark plug hole and rechecked- still 120 and holding - no boost or loss so piston and rings are good. I thought it was hydraulic lifter collapse so i fished it out and replaced the lifter- put it all back and started... noise is still there...  Mad
I looked at the rocker it is moving operating same as the rest on visual inspection. The old lifter looked fine- no real indication of over wear- i am being told by friends that the cam lobe has developed a groove. I just started thinking as im writing this that the rod may be a little bent- still rotates and pushes but is like 30 psi loss and a slap.. could this be a $49 set of rods or should i dig the entire cam out? Sounds like a stupid question now...thinking about the differences in the tear down to get to the cam... but seeking some outside advice..  

Ravoll
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 04/27/13 03:54 PM