Ad Radar
Item Posts    Sort Order

Tire Pressure monitors

wkessinger
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 09/25/07 06:35 AM

Hi, I am new to the corvette world as I just bought my first Vette at age 64.  (wife would not let me have one when I was 35)  Anyway, its a nice 1999 convertible with only 37000 miles.  The question I have and can't find out is about the TPM units on the wheels.  I get a message to service the TPM's.  I took it to the Chevy dealer and he said he can't find any indication of any sensors on any wheels.  They want $160 per wheel plus labor charges to replace the sensor (new).  

Does the 1999 have batteries in the sensors?  I don't trust any after market tire places to (example, Discount Tires ) work on my wheels.  At this point I just want the sensors to talk to the reciever unit and give me the warm and fuzzy while driving that I have proper tire presure.

Any help please.  

Johnjr
Posted: 02/12/08 02:36 PM

I had that sort of problem with my 96...  I got rid of the run flat tires and now I get the same warning lite. When they mounted the new tires one of the sensors inside the tire, strapped to the rim came loose I examined the sensor and saw no battery.  

sailordan
Posted: 03/24/08 09:55 PM

By chance, I am having the same problem with my tire pressure monitoring system on my 1999 Coupe. I am also having a problem with my remote locks. I am wondering if there is any possibility, however remote, the two systems may be connected, possibly by the same fuse? The local service center here in Hawaii wants to charge me $2200.00 to replace the remote lock receiver and all four tire sensors. I think they may be trying to pull a fast one on me. This is the third Corvette I've owned, but it is the only C5. I just don't know enough about the computer systems on Vettes to even diagnose these problems, let alone fix them. Any help would be appreciated. Sailordan2@hawaii.rr.com  

Dan404
Posted: 04/16/08 06:14 PM