Ad Radar
Item Posts    Sort Order

FX3 Control Module disable

Scott A.
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 10/15/06 01:41 PM

Hello!
I am new to the Corvette world with my purchase of a 91 Corvette Convertible.
I would like to replace the FX3 shocks with regular shocks, the car has 90 thousand miles on it. How do I disable the FX3 system, will it cause any problems? Where is the module located? Any helpful hints?  
Thanks! Scott  

presidential
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 10/16/06 08:02 AM

From what I understand, it is tied into the ABS system so I am not sure what it would do to the rest of the system if it is gone.  I've read around on some autocrossing boards and allegedly the FX3 setup is a hot ticket for handling.  You might want to consider keeping it and replacing the shocks.  
Craig

Scott A.
Posted: 10/16/06 04:49 PM

Thanks for the information.  I had also read about the FX3 being tied into the ABS, may need to re-think.  Appreciate the reply, Scott  

presidential
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 10/17/06 08:47 AM

No problemo.  
Craig

Viscount
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 10/25/06 01:57 PM

The module is located, I believe, in the storage compartment behind the drivers seat.

The ABS is also located there. I have an article from C/F relating to a 92 vette that states you can disconnect the connector, located on the bulkhead in the compartment without effecting any other systems. As I recall it's about the size of a pack of cigarettes & has approx 25 pins or so. I'll see if I can find the article & pass it on.  

presidential
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 10/26/06 09:20 AM

For an official word, I'm emailing Mr. Petris.  I'm pretty darn curious now and he'll be able to tell me exactly what's what.  
Craig

Viscount
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 11/20/06 02:33 PM

The article I referred to is by Chris Petris. Shocked  

presidential
V-6 Camaros rule!
Posted: 11/21/06 08:24 AM

Time to email him again...thanks for the reminder. Smile  
Craig

Airwolf.Mike