Ad Radar
Item Posts    Sort Order

help in choosing a cylinder head

royrois
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 06/25/13 08:28 PM

I'm new to this engine rebuilding stuff. I'm building a 350 engine that would be on a daily driver. I have no idea what compression ratio should I be looking at. The engine came along with a 14022601 heads. I've done some research and they say that I need to do some work on the 601 heads like replacing it with a 1.94 intake valves and do some porting. Since im only building a street engine is this really necessary?

Or would I be better off with just buying a new low budget head? Anyone can suggest a good after market head that is easy on the budget.  

68scott385
I mow my lawn and find Chevys
Posted: 06/26/13 03:26 AM

Shoot for 9:1 compression ratio, that way it'll run on low octane horse pee.

By the time you spend the money to have those heads ported and larger valves installed, you'll see that for a couple hundred more you could have had better aftermarket heads. Spend the grand for entry level aftermarkets and be way ahead on the return per investment curve.  
68scott385 68scott385 68scott385

ethelkilledfred-#001
Posted: 06/26/13 06:31 AM

Icon Quoteroyrois:
I'm new to this engine rebuilding stuff. I'm building a 350 engine that would be on a daily driver. I have no idea what compression ratio should I be looking at. The engine came along with a 14022601 heads. I've done some research and they say that I need to do some work on the 601 heads like replacing it with a 1.94 intake valves and do some porting. Since im only building a street engine is this really necessary?

Or would I be better off with just buying a new low budget head? Anyone can suggest a good after market head that is easy on the budget.

SUM 151124 Ml
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-151124
$309.50 Each-
Cylinder Head, Vortec, Cast Iron, Assembled, 67cc Chamber, 175cc Intake Runner, Chevy, 5.7L

Intake Valves Included: Yes