Item Posts    Sort Order

Wheel bearings

beachj89
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 05/04/13 07:55 AM

Ok once again I'm new to all this and i'm trying to learn the right way so this may sound stupid, but on my 74 K10 I removed the locking hub and outer wheel bearing and I want to replace the inner as well, but I cant figure out how to get it out. That being said what is a brass drift? Can I use any other tool to get around using it? and what direction does the bearing and seal punch out?
Thank You  

68scott385
I mow my lawn and find Chevys
Posted: 05/04/13 08:25 AM

A brass drift is a brass punch. It's made from brass because brass will take the punishment/damage itself instead of dinging or damaging the part being driven in or out. It's like using a rubber hammer. Something needs encouragement but not damage. The brass drift and the rubber mallet will be the damaged, but not destroyed, entity while the part being encouraged is still in good shape. It's much easier to replace the brass or rubber tool than the part being driven.  
68scott385 68scott385 68scott385

beachj89
Posted: 05/04/13 09:35 AM

Ok that was my understanding, the title drift, made me wonder if it was supposed to drift or be just under the internal diameter of the the wheel hub, alright now that that is cleared up does anyone know in what direction the inner bearing punched out?  

waynep712222
I have an SS396 tatoo
Posted: 05/04/13 11:01 AM

with the K10 rotors and hub looking like this..

0900C1528004c6c4

the bearing races drive out from the closest end..

i have been doing this a LONG time and have worn out all my brass punches over the decades..

i have started using long tapered punches with flat tips like the one on the right side to drive the races out ... a little on the left.. a little on the right.. left and right back and forth as the race slides out straight...

Image 16240

you will want a tapered punch at least a foot long for that application...