Ad Radar
Item Posts    Sort Order

1988 Chevy 350 TBI upgrades

ryerye76
I love my Chevy Chevette!
Posted: 12/02/09 10:03 PM

Swapped the stock engine in my 88 Chevy 2500 for an engine I had built for a Nova. It's my work truck so I needed to use the modified engine.The truck has the stock TBI and I am having trouble with the timing and idle. Been reading up on this and I've read something about having a chip burned or something after the truck is dyno'd? A guy I know who owns a wrecking yard said I might need bigger injectors? Want to keep the TBI but am willing to go to a carb. Just want the truck to run good because I'm a contractor and need it to be reliable. Buying a new truck is not in the equation because work right now is not exactly bustling! Any help is appreciated!  

chevman24
I have an SS396 tatoo
Posted: 12/03/09 08:01 AM

More info about the engine is needed. Is the engine throwing any codes? How built is the motor you swapped in your truck?  Engine size, is it a stroker? What cam did you use? There are alot of variables that need to be addressed for a ballpark figure of where you need to be.  

ryerye76
Posted: 12/03/09 12:10 PM

No codes not sure about the cam but its bigger than an RV cam and bored out 60 over with flat top high compression pistons. I run premium high octane gas. My cousin built the motor a few yrs ago. Not a stroker.  

chevman24
I have an SS396 tatoo
Posted: 12/03/09 02:06 PM

You need a chip for the computer to work with the cam. For that you will need the cam card. It has all the duration, lift numbers for the camshaft. burning a chip would be hard to do without it, if not impossible. Unless you want to re-measure the lift of the cam.  

ryerye76
Posted: 12/03/09 10:09 PM

How would I get a cam card? My cousin built the engine and he cant remember the type of cam, it's been about 5 yrs.  

chevman24
I have an SS396 tatoo
Posted: 12/04/09 01:28 PM