Super Chevy
Click here to find out more!

building 383, heads and compression which heads?

Super Chevy
Item Posts    Sort Order

building 383, heads and compression which heads?

tysonmm tysonmm
I love my Chevy Chevette! | Posts: 6 | Joined: 09/13
Posted: 09/23/13
08:58 AM

Hello all, this is my first post.  I recently purchased my dream car, a 1969 Chevelle with a 350.  I picked up a 350 block with casting number 14010207 with heads cast # 462624, I've read that these heads may be crack prone.

I'm looking to bore this block 30 over and put in a 383 crank and shoot for 10:1 compression.  Should I stick with these heads or look for 305 heads?  I found a pair of heads cast #  14014416 for $200.

BTW: This will be my first engine build ever, I've never done anything like this before, but what's the fun in paying someone else to do it?

Also, with regards to the recommend heads, what do you recommend with regards to rebuilding the heads in regards to valve sizes? Also, thoughts on pistons for these heads?  I don't want 11:1 as I've read that the motor will blow apart at first run as I'm doing this on a budget build as my first motor.  I'd like to try to get 350-400 HP out of it if possible.

Thank you for your time.  

tysonmm tysonmm
10:32 AM

Also, if I go with head casting 14014416, how do I know which roller rockers to go with? ratio etc....  no deep pockets here.

Any online tool to enter the head cc size and block\stroke and figure out which pistons with 6" rods and gasket depth to go with to get a 10:1 CR?  

pepsi1 pepsi1
Big Block power for the win | Posts: 940 | Joined: 03/11
12:19 PM

First things first:
If this is your dream car and your first ever engine build, you'll want to do it right.
  Check out the machine shops reputation. Ask questions, and if you don't like what you hear. It's your hard earned money go somewhere else....I can't stress this enough. More guys have been burned by lousy machine shop work. Don't be one of them....