Super Chevy
Item Posts    Sort Order

just getting started upgrading.

joshcanfield joshcanfield
I love my Chevy Chevette! | Posts: 24 | Joined: 02/13
Posted: 08/14/13
06:12 PM

Hello,
I have a 1982 Chevy ElCamino. I recently came in to about 2k to spend for my self. now i am new to the whole rebuilding of my car. Pulled the 229 out and put a 350 4 bolt out of a 1978 c10. I know I want to eventually one day turn the 350 into a maybe a 383 stroker? so I was wondering if there were parts that I could use to on both a 350 for now and later keep on the engine when I rebuild it.

so I would at least like a new carb, maybe new ignition, Shift Kit?

I have a TH350 transmission. everything is stock at the moment except the engine I pulled.(not really into the idea of stock cars. i like upgrades too much)

so any advice on where i should put my money in to first would be greatly appreciated.  

68scott385 68scott385
I have an SS396 tatoo | Posts: 325 | Joined: 07/09
Posted: 08/15/13
04:50 AM

First thing to do is improve its ability to breathe. Headers & free flowing exhaust is a good idea to get started. Then an aftermarket dual-plane intake manifold and 4bbl carb. If you have the money, swapping the cam while the intake is off would save time, money, and labor. A lesser expensive aftermarket HEI distributor will work fine for now. Once those mods are made the next step is better heads. If you follow a pattern of incremental improvements the next step is a fresh short block.

At some point you will have to improve your transmission's ability/capability to hold the increases in power. A shift kit is a good starting point as  long as the transmission is in good health. The key thing to keep in mind is that once the fluid starts smelling burnt, the trans is of decreasing health until it dies. If you have to pull the trans, replacing the torque converter with a higher stall unit will help as long as you don't go too high.