406 sbc header help

Super Chevy
Item Posts    Sort Order

406 sbc header help

h53mwood h53mwood
I love my Chevy Chevette! | Posts: 4 | Joined: 07/12
Posted: 05/03/13
07:54 AM

Hey all, I've been looking around at headers for a couple of weeks and was hoping to get some input here. I ended up taking over a project car of my dads that he lost interest in and have been making a few changes; I'm fairly new to all of this so please forgive me if I have a lack of technical knowledge. It’s a 73 Nova with a 406, 288/296 (298?) Crane Saturday Night Special cam with .536" lift (think it’s supposed to pull from about 3-7k), 3500 stall, rpm airgap intake, 750 Holly..... I replaced the old S/R torquer heads with some Jegs 195cc aluminum D ports, 2.02 & 1.60 valves..... After the install, my round tube Hookers leaked at the head so I am now searching for some D port headers and was wondering if anyone can make some recommendations as far as size and length or brand? The more I read, the more uncertain I become. The engine still has the short 5.56" rods so we don’t like to turn it but about 6k tops. I need a header that will be most beneficial under that rpm. Have been thinking about some 1-5/8" long tubes, so I don’t loose torque but I'm not sure if this is large enough for my setup. Anyway, thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide!  

h53mwood h53mwood
I love my Chevy Chevette! | Posts: 4 | Joined: 07/12
Posted: 05/03/13
11:47 AM